Brahma Viharas Website

The following website is entirely devoted to the Brahma Viharas:Palm and Jacaranda Tree

The website has the following sections:

Loving-Kindness (Metta)

Loving-Kindness Discourse
Loving-Kindness Meditation
Metta Meditation: Guidelines

Compassion (Karuna)

Appreciative Joy (Mudita)

Equanimity (Upekkha)

Four Divine Abodes

Four Noble Truths and the Four Brahma Viharas

ACCEPT (Acronym)



“The Four Immeasurables—Loving-kindness, Compassion, Sympathetic [Appreciative] Joy, and Equanimity—are the sublime expressions of love. They are also known as the Four Limitless Ones, The Four Sublime States, and the Brahma Viharas or Divine Abodes. These four qualities of true love are said to be sublime, lofty, noble, and most excellent for they are the right and ideal way of relating with all living beings.

These sublime qualities of love provide the answer to all situations we may encounter in our lives. They are the great removers of tension, the great peace-makers in social conflict, and the great healers of wounds suffered in the struggle of existence. These noble qualities of love level social barriers, build harmonious communities, awaken the slumbering generosity within us, and revive the joy and hope long abandoned.

These four qualities of love are called immeasurable because their capacity to purify the heart and generate positive energy is beyond measure. In addition, as this sublime love grows within us through sincere practice, it extends immeasurably to all living beings throughout all realms of existence.” (SourcePoint Global Outreach, The Heart of Dharma Collection (Mount Shasta, CA: Naljor Prison Dharma Service, n.d.)